One-Swipe Wonders

IMG_4913

Keeping with yesterdays theme of lazy day makeup I thought I’d do a round up of the best most fuss free shadows in my collection. Often times they are the saviors that will have everybody thinking about how much effort you put into your makeup, when really you just did the usual “grab swipe and go”. Best thing about these shadows: All you need is your finger and preferably a blending brush of your choice, to soften and blend the edges..but even that you could use a finger for. Add lashings of mascara, and you’re good to go.

1. Maybelline Colour Tattoo in Permanent Taupe (EU)/Tough as Taupe (US) ∼ 7 €

Was my first purchase of the lot. When I first heard about these babies being released in the US and all the Hype around them, I couldn’t wait for their release here overseas. I basically spent days hovering around my local drugstore (s).

This colour is a matte formula, perfect for a little something on your lids. It can be applied lightly as a haze of greyish-ness or even built up as a solid grey taupe base for smokey eyes.  It goes great with my blue-green eyes and if you’re really feeling fancy there’s almost endless options you can pair it with. My favorite combination would have to be with Mac’s Satin Taupe layered over top of it. Just so effortlessly beautiful and grungy?. I remember wearing that combo for the first time and really feeling that Olsen Twin vibe.

2. Mac Eyeshadow in Soba ∼ 14,50 €

This makes me swoon every time I wear it. And that is almost every time I decide to do some lazy day eyeshadow. It is by far my favorite of the bunch right now. It all started when I got my Mac 15 Palette and chose the shades I wanted to add to it. I first saw Soba on Anna of Viviannadoesmakeup. She raved about how great this shade is and I immediately knew it would be right up my alley. It’s a gorgeous yellow tinged gold shade with subtle shimmer running trough it, but it’s not like frosty, you could blend it through your crease and it would come up as almost matte. This is my Mac 217’s best friend, and mine of course. If I want to amp it up a little I’ll add some black eyeshadow to my lash line or even some liquid liner.

Not really much more to say here, other than I luuurve it and I do highly recommend it. Oh, and I really brings out the blue in my eyes, must be the yellow undertones. But fear not it is by no means yellow yellow, just a really pretty cool toned gold. Oh I don’t know how to describe it, you’ll just have to go and check it out when you get the chance.

3. Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Cream Eyeshadow Stick in Sunlight Gold ∼ 31 €

I believe this was a Limited Edition shade, although it is still listed but sold out on Bobbi Browns website. A lovely gold shimmering beige colour. This is a tricky one. I feel like I need to blend properly on my lids or else it will appear chalky and somewhat patchy and crumbly. That’s probably due to the shimmery texture. It took me some getting used to and at first I was really but off and chucked it into my drawers and didn’t grant it any more attention.

I have now figured out how I like to use it and am wearing it with pleasure. I love it as an inner corner highlight, as it is really super brightening and reflective. It’s definitely on the more in our face site of inner corner highlights, but oh well. As long as I feel comfortable wearing it I don’t care.

4. Maybelline Colour Tattoo in On and On Bronze (EU)/Bad to the Bronze (US) ∼ 7€

the second of my two colour tattoos. Do you see a pattern yet? All those shades are on the taupe, bronze side. That’s just because they’re the easiest to pull off fuss free. This is a pretty basic bronze cream eyeshadow, I love the lasting power of these Dupes to the Mac Paint Pots. Again, easy to apply sheer or build up as a full on bronze base. Really nice with Soba over the top or Mac’s Patina, to add some oomph to this lovely but somewhat unspectacular old gold shade.

5. By Terry Ombre Blackstar “Color-Fix” Cream Eyeshadow in Brown Perfection ∼ 31 €

I only got this a few days ago, but I’m already head over heels for this. I heard both Anna of VDM and Lily of LilyPebbles talk about it in their recent Beauty Chat Video and decided to check it out. It’s a nice brown shade with pink? shimmers running trough it. I wore it out to my friends birthday party on Monday just smudged along my upper lash line as somewhat of a thick flicked out eyeliner and also smudged under my lower lashes and let me tell you. Phwoah! 

Great colour payoff and the lasting power was just ah-mazing. No creasing or fading whatsoever. It really made the blue in my eyes pop and I felt super glam. Haha!

For that look I also wore the Bobbi Brown one in the inner corner, those two were pretty gorgeous together, let me tell you!

But I could also imagine this shade as a wash all over the eyelids or along the lash line blended up towards the crease as a gradient effect. It’s expensive but well worth every penny in my opinion. I’m in love!

That’s it for now, There might be a few additions in the future, but I think I should really work with what I have before spending more money on similar products. Although those By Terry Shadow Stick *Sigh* ….

 

2 thoughts on “One-Swipe Wonders

Leave a Reply

