Perfume Sample Hoarding

IMG_4946

When beauty shopping you will always be given a lot of samples. This has gone so far for me that I can’t even sort out which ones to use and which ones to leaves, leading to me ignoring them all together. Even worse, I fear that I might like a product sample where the actual product will be out of budget, so I just don’t even test it.

But with fragrances that’s different. I mean yes I do have a lot, and I just picked out a few here, but I don’t feel as overwhelmed. The thing that I like about perfume samples that bugs me about skincare or make-up samples is that I can actually enjoy them and get time to fully test them before deciding wether or not to buy. Once opened you have to use skincare samples quite quickly or else they’ll dry out or go bad or something.

I’ve always like perfume and as a little girl I used to collect Disney fragrances..More for the bottles than anything else really, but still. My first conscious fragrance purchase was Marc Jacobs Daisy, and I’ve loved it every since. But it’s only been for the past year that I’ve discovered my love for fragrances in general. I love how they are special to every person and everyone has a personal scent. But what annoyed me about broadly available perfumes, is that it seems like either they all smell kind of the same or everyone owns them.

So I’ve been on the hunt for niche brands and found local Jo Malone and Diptyque resellers. I now own Diptyque Philosykos and Jo Malones Peony & Blush Suede. Every time I went and sniffed my way through all the lovely scents, I asked the sales assistants if they could give me samples to try.

So far I tried Diptyques Eau Duelle and Ofrésia, the first I like, but I feel like it gives me a headache and makes me feel somewhat nauseous, the latter unlike first thoughts I quite enjoy.

On the Jo Malone front I own around six samples, my favorite begin Wild Bluebell Cologne.

I recently received a sample by the Different Company a perfume called South Bay. Never heard of them, but so far quite impressed by the rather citrusy but yet deep woody scent.

One old favorite of mine which is a classic is Chloé by Chloé. I worship my two half empty samples, reason being I never purchased it, as it has become my best friends signature scent and it reminds me so much of her. Despite that, I’ve loved it for years, and maybe in a few years time I will get it for myself.

I’ll keep on hoarding and trying and loving perfume, and surely there’ll be a few additions to my still rather small collection.

Leave a Reply

