New Year’s Resolutions: Skincare

Ever since moving to a different city I’ve kind of neglected my whole skincare routine a lot. It all started with my exfoliating toner running out and me not repurchasing it, I then stopped using flannels/ muslin cloths on an everyday basis because I didn’t want to throw them in the washing after a days use and quite frankly I don’t have enough clothes to fill up a washing machine every week. So instead of being confronted with not having any cloths left because their all dirty, I stopped using them all together. Stupid I know!

I only cleanse my skin very quick and not really thoroughly. Sometimes I don’t even use my usual cleanser every day, especially when I’m back home I only use my mom’s foaming soap which I actually hate.

Of course not cleansing properly combined with naughty eating habits, especially over the holidays, is never a good combination, so no wonder my skin looks and feels like hell at the moment.

I don’t think I need to explain any further. You see, my once so nice and organized regimen is now basically non-existent. Also as you would expect, whenever one of my regular products runs out, suddenly all of them run out and I have to repurchase ALL of them which is a real pain in the ass.

So this year I’ll try to get back on track with my regular skincare regimen. I do have a sneaky list of products on my phone, of products I want to try in hope they’ll:

a) bring a new twist into my routine

b) help clear up my skin and make it look as good as it used to a few months ago.

I’ll be sure to update you on that.

But in addition to that, I have also decided I want expand…if you will…my skincare onto other parts that I know to show aging early if not taken care of. Not that at 18 I should have to worry about signs of aging, but some day the time will come, and then what is a nice – hopefully – young looking face, if my hands and neck look all wrinkled up and nasty?

So starting off with my skincare New Year’s Resolutions:

1. Don’t neglect the neck

Basically what that means is: Also apply my skincare routine to my neck. I’m talking the full deal: Cleanse, tone, moisturize. I know it’s not that big of a hassle but somehow I’ve always been to lazy and associated neck care with water dripping all over my upper body…and now THAT sounded like a hassle.

2. Exfoliate Hands

Seeing as we use them for everything everyday, they really should be granted a little more attention that just the occasional hand cream application. So in addition to that I’ll try, as of now, to use a little scrub on them every now and again just to get all the dead skin cells of.

3. Exfoliate Lips

I love a good bold lip, as I told you on Friday. But part of a nice bold lip is smooth lips without dead skin the colour can cling to (gross I know, I’m sorry but it’s the truth). I do sometimes before I put on a red lip but I figured I should do it every other day of the week, just to keep them smooth at all times. Maybe I should now consider buying a proper lip scrub such as the fresh sugar lip polish, I never like those home made sugar olive oil concauctions where the sugar always ended up everywhere but on the lips. You see people it’s all about making life as easy as possible, anything that’s too time consuming or messy I resent and thus won’t ever acknowledge as part of my routine. (sounding pretty dramatic I realise, but you get what I mean)

4. Use masks at least once a week

Going back to facial skincare, I want to take some time on, say, Sunday evenings, as a pre-week pamper, to apply some face masks. They help clear up the skin and suck out all the nasty that lingers…I’ll spare you further detailed explanation. Or course that would then also apply to taking the masks down the neck as well – I’m all about equal treatment here.

Fingers crossed I’ll actually be able to keep these resolutions up, unlike so many we always only keep up for the first few weeks of the year (classics like drink more water or I’m going to be really healthy and go exercise all day every day) – Yeah we all know they never work out!

Leave a Reply

